French Press

This post goes out to all the coffee lovers out there.

This morning I decided to crack open my precious bag of Guatemala De Flur coffee beans that I purchased a few months back. Not really sure what prompted it, but I always think my coffee tastes 100x’s better when it is freshly ground and pressed, so that’s what I went for. I have my own grinder so why may you ask don’t I ground my beans fresh every morning? Because I’m lazy, and I work at Starbucks where I can pre-grind them before taking them home. But I always save a few bags of coffee whole-bean specifically for french press days.

Ah the French Press. It truly makes any coffee taste truest to itself, if you follow me. When you use a drip machine, paper filter or not, a lot of the oils are stripped from the coffee bean. With a french press none of that happens. Your coffee, no mater how it is processed or roasted will automatically taste more robust, in this barista’s opinion. So I recommend that any person who calls themselves a coffee addict immediately run out and try this. I know for a fact that you can order a press at Starbucks and they’ll prep one for you. Or just go and buy one, they’re roughly $20. Just make sure you SPECIFICALLY ask for your coffee to be ground for French Press. It must be EXTREMELY corse. If it is too fine then some of the grounds may seep into the coffee, and no one likes drinking random specks of grounds.

So the process is pretty simple. Measure out your coffee, roughly 2 TBS per 6 oz of water — just like you would for your coffee pot, and put in the bottom of the press. Then pour boiling water on top of the beans, I like to stir everything together just to make sure everything is incorporated. Put the top back on, but DO NOT PRESS. Set a timer and wait 4 minutes. Theeeen you press. Ta-da French Pressed coffee.

Coarseness!

And now we play the waiting game, for 4 minutes.

Annnd plunge. Enjoy!

About sydg86

Cincinnati native. Travel enthusiast. Foodie extraordinaire!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment